Recent Searches

Big Game/ Deep sea and Reef fishing in Zanzibar

star-3.511 Reviews
Nungwi, Tanzania
Big Game/ Deep sea and Reef fishing in Zanzibar

From $269.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Take a private trip out to sea for deep-sea fishing with a local guide. You'll head out aboard a speed boat equipped with modern fishing equipment to fish for tuna, marlin, bull dorado, and billfish, with as little or as much assistance as you need from your guide. Fresh tropical fruit and water will also be available on board for you to snack on at your leisure.
  • Choose from one of four potential fishing spots
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off is included
  • All equipment and guide services will be provided
  • Fresh tropical fruit and bottled water will be available on board
Saved to wishlist!
Fishing gears
Air-conditioned vehicle
Private transportation
All Fees and Taxes
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Towel and Sunscreens

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

We pick up from any Hotel in Zanzibar.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY The Sultan Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Big Game/ Deep sea and Reef fishing in Zanzibar?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Big Game/ Deep sea and Reef fishing in Zanzibar.

Traveler Photos

See More


11 Reviews
4 stars
3 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-3 of 11 reviews
Big hat, no cattle. Not quite what I was expecting
, Jul 2021
My guide was fantastic and the guys on the boat were great. For that I am giving the 5 stars. Here are the problems. 1. The boat you see in most of the pictures, the nice large motorboat, is not the boat you will have. The boat I had was a small local fishing boat which goes out into the ocean on some fairly large waves and basically makes circles for about 4-5 hours. Catching a fish is possible but from talking to other people, often you don't, so it can amount to circling for hours on the open sea in a small boat. 2. You can get a fishing tour in your hotel for about $120-$140, about a third of what I paid for my tour. Had I been on a larger modern motorboat, that price would have been fair. For a small local fishing boat, not so much. My advice, ask the tour service what kind of boat you will be on and how the fishing has been on the last few trips they have taken, how many fish were caught. Fishing is very seasonal everywhere. And check for other options if you are going to be going out in a small local boat, you can probably find a better deal.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for writing a review about the experience, we really appreciate it alot. We are glad to hear that our crew and the guide was fantastic. and about the boats, we have different types of boats and all of them are on the pictures, all our boats and engines are Yamaha from U.A.E, we do send the boat depends the area where will go for fishing, and amount of travelers. We cannot send a bigger boat for a Solo traveler. As for you, you did book for 1 person (solo) from Matemwe we did send a Yamaha fiber, we use them mainly from Matemwe beach cause its located on the Each Coast, Matemwe beach is affected so much with the tides that why we use Yamaha fiber for more convenient. In Nungwi and Kendwa, its not affected with the low tides, we have all types of boats there. And about the prices from hotel desk, I don't think it will be cheaper, cause they will resale it to tour operator companies like us. Also If you book via OTA's they take commissions (15-30% of the Total price) cause they also use alot of advertisements costs online and have alot of workers and high operating costs. Also fishing trips cost really really really alot, consumes alot of gasoline, cause we go on deepsea and go around the area. About fishing season, In Zanzibar we do fish almost everyday, somedays when its too windy, the sea becomes more rough which is not good for fishing. When the ocean is more calm is much more better we can catch alot. Thank you so much for your time to write your review about the experience.
Big disappointment
, Jul 2021
A big disappointment, went on a fishing trip completely different than expected. I thought that this was going to be the most memorable part of my stay in Zanzibar, ends up in catching zero fish!! Very disappointed!!!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi, We really appreciate your time to write a review and we are really sad to hear that you were disappointed. Days aren't the same, its not everyday you can catch a fish as it is an ocean. We do not guarantee anyone that you will catch a fish 100% and there is no any company around the globe can guarantee 100% you will catch a fish on a big game because it mainly depend on the nature. We have all best equipments, experienced on fishing, but other things are beyond our capacity as they depend on the weather and nature.
, Mar 2022
Journée catastrophique, déjà pas de rdv fixé, on attend à l'heure dite sur le parking de l'hôtel, ne voyant rien venir au bout de 20mn nous allons voir du côté de la plage et bingo notre capitaine nous attendait, rien de grave jusqu'ici, mais pêcher dans une pirogue avec du matériel bien fatigué, des hameçon mangé par la rouille dans un océan tumultueux ou on s'est fait balloter dans tout les sens pendant 3h , on a lutté mais avec le mal de mer ça à été trop dur de continuer, normalement quelqu'un de sérieux aurait repousser la journée, mais bon il faut passer à la caisse , niveau qualité prix c'est lamentable, allez au bord de mer pour 25€/ tête vous aurez exactement le même service, en un mot fuyez!!!!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Big Game/ Deep sea and Reef fishing in Zanzibar
Big Game/ Deep sea and Reef fishing in Zanzibar


5 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations