Recent Searches
Clear

Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour

star-4.5211 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Francisco, United States
Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Take in two of the San Francisco Bay Area’s top destinations, Muir Woods and Sausalito, on a 4-hour morning tour from downtown San Francisco. Drive through the Presidio and across the Golden Gate Bridge to Muir Woods National Monument where you have some time to walk among towering old growth redwood trees. Next, head to Sausalito for a stroll along the picturesque waterfront, which is full of great boutiques, cafes and restaurants. You can opt to remain on your own in Sausalito or return on the coach.
  • 4-hour morning tour to Muir Woods and Sausalito, from San Francisco
  • Spend time in the ancient redwood forests in Muir Woods
  • Meander around the shops, galleries and waterfront walkways in charming Sausalito
  • Cross the Golden Gate Bridge and see the Pacific Ocean
  • Have the option to stay on your own in Sausalito for more time to explore

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Be one of the first to arrive at Muir Woods and keep your afternoon free for San Francisco sightseeing.
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Professional guide
Entrance fee to Muir Woods National Monument ($15 USD)
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Departure Point: If you are not staying at a SF downtown hotel, you must contact local vendor to confirm your tour and pick up location and time. Please see pickup times below for hotels in the San Francisco neighborhoods below you must contact supplier after booking to setup pickup location and time.  Union Square / Downtown - 8:30 - 8:45 Fisherman's Wharf - 8:45-9AM Please call us on the day before to confirm your pickup location. Thank you.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • A maximum of 14 people per booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • A minimum of 3 people is required
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY A Taste of SF Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour ?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour ?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It was just enough time, but if you want to do some hiking to the 4th bridge the beach you'll need more time, The driver was extremely rude!" See review
  • "That won’t be enough if you are a dedicated biker but it’s a good way of checking it out on a first visit." See review
  • "Muir Woods is a special place to visit and Sausalito is always a nice stop." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
211 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 211 reviews
star-5
Redwoods
Teresa_F
, Aug 2022
The redwoods were spectacular! The walkway was well maintained as well. Mike the tour guide was knowledgeable.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Teresa_F, thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time during the tour and also we appreciate your high ranking of the guide's work. Moreover, we will be happy to see you on our other tours!
star-4
Muir woods emotional,...
Jessika_C
, Aug 2022
Muir woods emotional, fresh air and amazing wooden smell. Better to have more time to see more plants and trees.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Jessika, thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time during the tour. Speaking about time in Muir woods, unfortunately, there is a rule in Muir Woods that tour buses are not allowed to stay there more than 1h30min, that's why we can be there only during this time. Anyway, we will be happy to see you on our other tours!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A lovely experience & the duration of the excursion was just right!
Lolita_J
, Aug 2022
Gerry, our tour guide was very informative and was very nice. My sons thoroughly enjoyed conversations with him. It was a lovely experience for everyone.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Lolita_J, thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time during the tour and also we appreciate your high ranking of Gerry's work. Moreover, we will be happy to see you on our other tours!
star-2
I would like my money back.
Kelly_F
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable- however far too accommodating to the disrespectful guests and less accommodating to the good ones. We got back 75 minutes late and felt rushed at the stops. Other guests were not ready for pick up in time and we drove around for an extra 25 minutes and went back to get them. Another guest was in the wrong location and we drove around to get him. The same guests were late for meeting times. We sat around waiting for them in the hot van. They got dropped off first and we were not even dropped at our hotel door because the tour guide had to rush to get the afternoon tour. He also spent a tremendous amount of time calling and texting while driving. We felt very unsafe. The Golden Gate stop was not where it was promised and was hurry you have 5 minutes. The staff at Muir Woods was not very kind when we were driving around looking for one of the late guests, but our driver was very negative- got out of the vehicle and was having words with the staff. Not appropriate. We will rethink using Viator again as they clearly do not train their staff to be respectful to all guests. There was a huge sign on the van about 20% of the tour cost as a tip. We did tip $20 only, based on the knowledge of the tour guide but were not impressed with our treatment. Rude, late guests should be given a 5 minute warning and then left behind.
star-5
Great Trip
Blake_S
, Jul 2022
It was a well-organized tour that was informative. The Redwoods are unlike anything else you will ever see.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Blake_S, thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time during the tour, as we always try to do our best for our customers. Moreover, we will be happy to see you on our other tours!
star-3
Expected more for the money
Kelly_W
, Jul 2022
Mike the tour guide was great however the cost of the trip and what you get from it do not match. Mike didn’t have a speaker so the people in the back couldn’t hear what he was saying so he pulled over on occasions to then turnaround and tell everyone. We also decided to stay in Sausalito and not get the van back so realistically I paid the money for a van ride as we had to pay for the woods ourselves.
star-4
Leave driving to guide
Pamela_C
, Jul 2022
Nice to not drive. Wish admission to park was included. Little bit of time crunch. Full van of passengers. Good tour guide
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
I love to booked in...
r6mr47tq5g
, Jul 2022
I love to booked in Viator since I’m using Viator Im satisfied with my tour. Highly recommended. So far we have a great experience on our tour.
star-3
Just okay Tour, not worth the price
Christina_Q
, Jul 2022
Tour guide was kind and talkative, price of the tour isn’t worth it. Website also said $15 per person fee was included in package I have a screen shot of it but when we got to Muir Woods we had to pay for ourselves.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Tranquil Muir Woods & Beautiful Sausalito
Sherry_O
, Jul 2022
We had a great tour! Muir Woods was beautiful & tranquil. We elected not to come back with the tour bus (took the ferry back to the hotel area), so we could leisurely enjoy quaint Sausalito’s shopping & restaurants.
star-5
Great
Monica_R
, Jul 2022
Joe was a wonderful guide. We had a great time.! He even left us at a different location and was so nice about it.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Monica_R, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your time during the tour. Also, we appreciate your high ranking of Joe's work. We are looking forward to seeing you on our other tours!
star-5
Make sure and add this to...
Laura_P
, Jul 2022
Make sure and add this to your list. Amazing forest and trees - breathtaking - the whole family will enjoy it!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Laura_P, thanks a lot for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed the tour. Muir Woods is really breathtaking, I completely agree with you! By the way, it would be nice to meet you on our other tours!
star-5
Absolutely beautiful trip
Martha_S
, Jul 2022
Magnificent park. Needed more time as we had to rush. Would suggest deleting stop at Golden Gate Bridge To spent time at park instead. Even better to be dropped off and picked up later. Enjoyed the ferry ride back to San Francisco
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Martha_S, thank you so much for your feedback, we are always glad to hear that our customers enjoyed their time on the tours. Talking about stopping at GGB...some customers complain when the driver doesn't do it, and some complain when he does...we have a scheduled tour and have to follow the plan, sorry. Anyway, we are delighted you liked the tour and it would be nice to see you on our other tours!
star-4
Not enough time in Muir Woods
Elizabeth_M
, Jul 2022
We didn’t have enough time in Muir Woods and too much time in Sausilito! If you book this tour know that the $15 entrance fee isn’t included ( clearly stated in description) but if you are a veteran with proof, you and a companion get in for free!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Elizabeth, thank you for the feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your time during the tour. Unfortunately, there is a rule that tour buses are not allowed to stay in Muir Woods for more than an hour or an hour and 20 min and we can't break this rule. I hope you understand. Anyway, thanks for choosing our company and we are looking forward to seeing you on our other tours!
star-5
Perfect Addition to Your SF Trip
Elizabeth_B
, Jul 2022
My husband and I went on this tour while on our honeymoon in San Francisco. We had Ulrich as our tour guide and he was wonderful! He was very knowledgeable and knew how to make the tour enjoyable. Overall, we would highly recommend this tour. We wish there was more time in the forest - it is an absolute must-see - but that’s what will happen with a half day tour. We opted to wander around Sausalito and take the ferry back to SF and we would recommend that as well. It takes the pressure off! Just get in line for the ferry early. We missed the first one and had to wait over an hour for the next. If you are considering whether or not to take this tour, take it!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Elizabeth, thank you for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your time during the tour. Also, we appreciate your high ranking of Ulrich's work. Unfortunately, there is a rule which we can't break- tour buses are not allowed to stay there more than 1h20min or 1 h., depending on the company (its schedule I mean) Anyway thank you for choosing our company and it would be nice to see you on our other tours!
star-5
Awesome morning in nature
Shannon_S
, Jul 2022
Ulrich was a great tour guide! He provided some great historical background on Muir Woods. I wish we had more time in Sausalito
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Shannon, thanks a lot for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed the tour and that morning! Muir Woods is really breathtaking. Unfortunately, we have a schedule for our tours and if you wanted you could stay in Sausalito longer and come back to the city by ferry later. Anyway, it would be nice to meet you on our other tours!
star-5
Worth every penny
laura_s
, Jul 2022
Ulrich was our guide and he was amazing! Loved the Muir Woods tour and the tidbits we learned about San Fransisco as well.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Laura_S, thanks a lot for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your time during the tour. Also, we appreciate your high ranking of our driver's work. We are looking forward to seeing you on our other tours!
star-5
Great choice!
Jason_D
, Jul 2022
The guide from Whoville was outstanding. He provided a great amount of information in an interesting way that made the tour a lot of fun. Highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Jason_D, thanks a lot for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your time during the tour. Also, we appreciate your high ranking of our driver's work. We are looking forward to seeing you on our other tours!
star-5
Wonderful sights and tour guide
Neil_R
, Jul 2022
Vista point view of bridge Amazing old trees, fresh air was wonderful, Sausalito beautiful, yummy tacos
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Neil_R, thanks a lot for your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed the time during the tour. We will be glad to see you again!
star-5
GORGEOUS experience! A must see!
Lindsay_M
, Jul 2022
Tour guide was funny and informative, the views of the city were amazing, and the National Park was absolutely STUNNING. I plan to go back one day. Sausalito was also fun and we chose to take the ferry back and the view from the bay was one of the most beautiful things I have seen. I was truly blown away and didn’t expect to it enjoy it as much as I did.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Dear Lindsay, thanks a lot for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your time during the tour. We are looking forward to seeing you on our other tours!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour
Small Group Half Day Muir Woods and Sausalito Morning Tour

star-4.5210

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-464

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.5124

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$139.00

star-4.566

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.00

star-4.5124

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.5167

2 hours 25 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-4.53488

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.5117

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations