Recent Searches

Full-Day Guided Tour of San Francisco with Alcatraz

San Francisco, United States
Full-Day Guided Tour of San Francisco with Alcatraz
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon7 to 8 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Explore San Francisco on a small-group full-day tour that covers top attractions including Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, and Alcatraz. Get great views of the San Francisco Bay Area during the short ferry ride to Alcatraz Island, where you then take a self-guided audio tour of the infamous prison. Return to shore for your bus tour of destinations such as Nob Hill, the Haight-Ashbury, the Castro, the Mission, and Golden Gate Park. Includes hotel pickup and drop-off in San Francisco.
  • Small-group full-day San Francisco tour with Alcatraz
  • Learn about Alcatraz prison on a self-guided audio tour
  • Snap photos of the Golden Gate Bridge from Battery Godfrey
  • Includes round-trip ferry and audio tour of Alcatraz, guided bus tour, hotel pickup and drop-off from most hotels

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This small-group tour takes extra time for walks at the Ferry Building and Golden Gate Park.
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup from most hotels in downtown San Francisco, but do not pick up outside SF city limits
Expert guide and commentary
Transportation to/from attractions (vehicle depends on group size)
Free Wifi on vehicle
Round-trip ferry from San Francisco to Alcatraz Island (US$41.00 value)
Child safety seat for children under 8 years old or 4' 9" (1.4 meters) required
Food and drinks
Transportation back to hotel after Alcatraz

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:30 AM
Pier 33 , San Francisco, CA 94133, USA

You will need to make your own way back to your hotel after Alcatraz.

For Hilton Union Square - meet at the Mason street entrance (Eastern entrance). For other locations, please meet outside hotel main doors. If your hotel is not listed, please select Hilton Union Square or Hotel Zephyr Fisherman's Wharf or alternatively add your hotel and we will provide the closest pick-up location. You will be provided your exact pick-up location and time upon confirmation. Please always refer to the providers confirmation.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • California law requires tour guests to bring a car safety seat for all children under 8 years and under 4' 9" (1.4 meters) in height. Any guest that does not provide their child's safety seat at the time of the tour and does not inform the tour operator in advance may not be allowed to board the tour and will not be subject to refund.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Exact destinations & itinerary may differ due to weather, road conditions, and the guide's discretion.
  • For hotel pickups, if your hotel is not listed, please select the Hilton Union Square at 333 O'Farrell Street (the meeting point is outside the Mason Street entrance).
  • City Tour will last approx 4-5 hours and allow approx 3 hours for Alcatraz
  • Please note, Alcatraz departure time varies. You will be notified of the confirmed time closer to your departure date. Allow for extra time between the two tours
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Government issued ID is required to redeem your Alcatraz tickets
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 37 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Extranomical Tours
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Suggest doing tour early in your trip to give you ideas for rest of stay" See review
  • "We definitely recommend this tour and hope that you too will get Tony as your guide/driver." See review
  • "Just use your time efficiently and it will run smoothly." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews


55 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews
City tour
, Jul 2022
Great way to see the city, we definitely wouldn't have seen as much on our own. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for taking the time to review your city tour experience. All the best!
Guided tour of San Francisco and Alcatraz
, Mar 2022
This looked like a fantastic tour to go on to make sure that you see all of San Fran as it is very spread out and easy to miss areas. Unfortunately we were not able to do the guided tour due to covid and places just starting to open back up not enough people signed up. The tour company were very good and got in touch in good time and offered us the alcatraz tickets and a refund or alcatraz and a hop on hop off bus tour. We accepted the hop on hop off bus tour. Thank you for keeping us updated and we appreciate the level of customer service We had an amazing time at Alcatraz it is so informative and has some stunning views. Well worth doing in San Fran. The hop on hop off tour allowed us to see parts of San Francisco that we definitely would not have seen or even known were there some lovely views. Thanks for a lovely day and the great customer service.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
I've passed your kind words on to our guest services department. They thank you for understanding and being flexible as San Francisco returns to opening its "Golden Gate" to visitors. Hope you can return this summer and see some more destinations and attractions. Take care.
, Oct 2021
Happy for all the tours 😎👍🛳⚓️⛩Experience was very nice to see San Francisco California. We did enjoy with the family
Great tour but not all as advertised
, Aug 2021
The tour guide Kimmy was great. Very knowledgeable and a lot of information. The tour did advertise hotel pickup and drop off but we were told by our tour guide when we were dropped off at Fisherman’s Wharf that when we got back from Alcatraz Island we had to find our own way back to our Union Square hotel. This is not what was advertised so be prepared to navigate San Francisco if you are not familiar with the city.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great, Friendly, and I learned something !
, Apr 2021
The Golden Gate Bridge views and going around the city. Alcatraz was nice too!! It was a great tour that included one of my favorite places, Fisherman’s Wharf. Great tour guide too!!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Sounds like the perfect day in San Francisco. Hope you got to enjoy some fresh crab (it's in season) on the Wharf. Take care!
Excellent Tour
, Mar 2020
Fantastic tour to do on our first day in San Francisco. Alcatraz was fantastic, we were on the first boat over. Pick ups were very efficient. The afternoon tour by Amanda was amazing. We went to places you would never go to on your own. Gives you an insight to the places you would want to visit again. We went over the Golden Gate Bridge and took some fabulous pictures. Lots of bathroom/coffee breaks. An excellent full day tour. Thank you
Canceled tour
, Feb 2020
Do yourself a favor and find yourself a local company in SF. The company that Viator contracted with canceled our tour less than 24 hours before it was scheduled. They offered us a ln alternative that was much less expensive than what I had paid. After spending way too much time trying to rectify the situation, they sent an Uber (that was also a hassle and took three attempts to actually get) and we only did the Alcatraz part of the tour (which we still could have done for cheaper). Used Viator in Europe and had a great experience. In San Francisco it was a disaster.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Not what you paid for tour
, Feb 2020
No pick up / drop off (pick up offered but YBER link did not work) I could have bought the tickets to ALCATRAZ just as easy The small group tour was a ticket provided on the Big bus tour not what I expected or wanted Kept ringing me to confirm very annoying
1 traveler found this review helpful
Excellent Tour. Brilliant Guid
Julie S
, Jan 2020
Randall was a brilliant and informative guide on this excellent tour. We went to places we would never have discovered on our own
1 traveler found this review helpful
Full Day Tour of Sand Francisco with Alcatraz - Amazing Experience
, Dec 2019
We were in San Francisco for just 1 day and got this tour that allowed us to see all the city and visit Alcatraz as well. Constaine our tour guide was knowledgeable and professional and made us feel like family
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
We're so glad you had a great time seeing our wonderful city. We've passed your kind words on to Constantine.
Great one-day tour of the city
, Dec 2019
This is a great tour to do on your first day visiting San Francisco. Getting to Alcatraz first thing in the morning was a great way to see it before the crowds later in the day. Then the afternoon was filled with driving around the city to see the sites with stops to take pictures. Don was knowledgeable and had stories and information about the sites. There is a lot of driving on this so if you get car sick - make sure you take that into account.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Isn't this city tour with Alcatraz wonderful? Glad you got to explore the island prison and see our wonderful city. Let's tour again soon.
Last Minute Reschedule with new Vendor
Susan J
, Nov 2019
We had a last minute cancellation/reschedule with a new vendor. Company did call the day before we were scheduled for our tour stating that due to low enrollment they would not be providing the tour. I was at my conference and not in a place where I could hear them and/or receive the new instructions. I ended up calling the company back to verify the instructions and ask that they send me detailed instructions via email. Which, of course, was a good idea because we had to get to all of these places on our own. Instead of providing transportation, they sent an Uber which we could not find because there were unclear instructions as to where they were going to pick us up at the hotel that had three entrances. We spent the better part of 30 minutes running from door to door only to see the Uber tail lights as they cancelled the pickup and moved on. Of course the Uber driver did not have my contact info because I didn't make the reservation. Since the first Uber driver cancelled, I had to make another call to the company to send a new Uber. At this time, our contact was frustrated and said that if I couldn't figure it out this time that they would not send another Uber. Let's remember that transportation was supposed to be part of this package and it was not my last minute change/cancellation. We arrived at Alcatraz late due to Uber situation and had no instructions as to where we were supposed to pick up our prepaid tickets. After the Alcatraz visit we had to find our way and walk to the rescheduled tour bus operator for the second half of the tour. Overall, it would have just been easier and probably less expensive to just get our own Uber to the Alcatraz Tour and then schedule the city tour on our own. I would not recommend this trip.
A Day With Constantine
, Oct 2019
Had a great tour. Constantine was very knowledgeable and hit all the places we were interested it going
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
We call Constantine the "professor" Glad to hear you had a great time! Tour with us again soon.
Good tour - Alcatraz AM, City PM
, Sep 2019
Great tour - only one key issue. Seems to have been two disjointed tours "patched" together - Alcatraz and SF bus tour. After we were dropped off for Alcatraz, we were given no information on how/when to get our "real" Alcatraz tickets nor to second part of tour. Had to go to group ticket sales to get Alcatraz tickets. Then after Alcatraz, walk 1/2 mile to another hotel for second part of tour. Had to call for this info "on the run". Had assumed we would be picked up where left off. Only other issue is that I really don't consider a bus a "small group". Other than this, great tour and friendly staff.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for your comments, they help us get better every day. Just so folks know...only the park service can do tours of Alcatraz so there is a bit of a pass off at the pier where you catch the ferry. Sorry if it seemed disjointed...we'll work on that. Please tour with us again!
San Francisco City Tour With Alcatraz
, Sep 2019
Alcatraz exceeded expectations. Driver/Guide was skilled, knowledgeable and very entertaining. I highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Glad that we were able to make your vacation to SF even more special. Come back again soon and try another tour!
Small Group Trip to Alcatraz and Coach Tour on Same Day.
, Sep 2019
This was a fantastic day out with the trip to Alcatraz Island in the morning and an excellent coach tour around San Francisco in the afternoon. The trip to Alcatraz was self managed but the afternoon was down to Kimberley entirely. What a competent and excellent host. Both as a great driver of the Bus and also as a commentator of the City. She fully deserves a 5 star rating from myself and my wife. CSDM Nottingham UK
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Kimmy earns her stars every day. It's wonderful to hear you had a great time.
Excellent Navigation & Comprehensive Tour
, Aug 2019
We covered a lot of SF in a short period of time. Some of the stops did feel a little rushed, but this was to be expected. Just use your time efficiently and it will run smoothly. Tony worked miracles under adverse driving circumstances and was always engaging with commentary. A great guy and a good tour!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thanks! Tony knows all the insider tricks for getting to SF's attractions even in the middle of summer. Glad you had a great time!
Disappointing Tour
, Jul 2019
We did bot stop at places we should have as mentioned in the itinerary, like the Ferry Buikding Market Place, Lands end Lookout/point. And severalmof the areas we should have passed by were also overlooked with traffic as en excuse. The tourguide/ driver was talking incessantly saying the same thing several times but we cannot appreciate because we cannot see what he is talking about and cannot picture it in our minds.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
We apologize for your not being able to experience the Ferry Building and Lands End. Unfortunately for both of us, your tour fell on the day of annual SF Marathon when many roads and access points are closed. This is the most comprehensive city tour available and we hope you enjoyed Alcatraz Island, Golden Gate Park, the Palace of Fine Arts, etc. Please call 415 357 0700 and ask for Gary so we can honor our satisfaction guarantee.
, Jul 2019
We did not see Lombard Street, Nob Hill or Chinatown. Our guide took us to 3 different views of the Golden Gate Bride which took away time to see everything else had had promised. Extremely disappointed as I was only in San Francisco for 2 days and did not see everything
Good trip
, Jul 2019
Alcatraz was amazing. City tour started off slow. Photos of bridge not for me but tour of neighbourhoods was great. Made me want to stay longer and explore more. Suggest doing tour early in your trip to give you ideas for rest of stay

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Full-Day Guided Tour of San Francisco with Alcatraz
Likely to Sell Out
Full-Day Guided Tour of San Francisco with Alcatraz


7 to 8 hours

Free Cancellation



9 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour 35 minutes

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 35 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations