Recent Searches

Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour

San Francisco, United States
Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour

From $99.00 / person

Price details
Lowest Price Guarantee
1 Adult
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
No times available
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more

Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English


Take away the stress and uncertainty from booking an Alcatraz tour with this package that includes Alcatraz ferry tickets and a 90 min guided walking tour of Chinatown and North Beach. Get practical tips from your guide on visiting Alcatraz then follow them through the heart of the largest Chinese community in the Western World. This is the perfect way to spend half a day in San Francisco enjoying some of its quintessential experiences with the help of a local who is on hand both to guide you and sort out logistics.
  • Experience two contrasting sides of San Francisco with a trip to Alcatraz and Chinatown
  • An audio guide provides narration for your tour of Alcatraz
  • A guide escorts you through the maze of vibrant streets that makes up the heart of Chinatown
Saved to wishlist!
Alcatraz Island Ticket including round trip ferry and audio guide
Guided walking tour of Chinatown and North Beach
Expert local guide
Tasting and demonstration at Golden Gate Fortune Cookie Factory
Special hand-made, custom fortune cookie to go
Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off

Departure Point

10 Mark Ln, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

Meeting Point: 10 Mark Lane (The Irish Bank)

Departure Time

10:00 AM

Return Details

San Francisco, CA, USA

End point varies

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This is a walking tour. Guests should be able to walk at a moderate pace without difficulty.
  • All guests must supply the name and birthdate of everyone visiting the island at least 10 days prior to your tour. Should you fail to provide these, your reservation will be canceled.
  • All guests (over 18) must bring ID on the day of their tour. Without ID, Alcatraz Cruises will not release your ticket for you to travel to Alcatraz.
  • Last-minute amendments are not possible due to the venue regulations.
  • COVID UPDATE. Effective August 20, 2021, proof of Covid-19 vaccination (over the age of 12) is required to enter sites on this tour (currently, Alcatraz does not require proof of vaccination). Everyone (over the age of 2) is required to wear a mask regardless of vaccination status while indoors. For full requirements, please check the San Francisco Government website.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Take Walks New York by Walks
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.
What is the policy on sanitization during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.
What is the social distancing policy during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "I would wear comfortable shoes and always bring a jacket!" See review


42 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews
No China Town in back alley!
, Sep 2021
We went to 10 Mark Lane via taxi ($20.00) to pick up our voucher for China Town guided tour. When we got there at 9:25 a.m. it was a back alley and no one was there, we drove around knocked on doors, there wasn’t anyone there to pick up any voucher, so we missed out on China town, which we paid for a head of time. We had the taxi take us to Montgomery street to get our Alcatraz voucher, we were four hours early!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Annette, Thank you for supplying your feedback. We are unsure what exactly happened but our meeting time is 10:00 am with the guide arriving at 9:45 am. This is stated in all our communication. Mark Lane is a short alley in the midst of a thriving neighborhood where we can gather safely and without interruption. Again, I am sorry you didn't get to the right place at the right time and we will take a closer look at how we could have helped you a bit more. Sorry again!
1 traveler found this review helpful
, Sep 2021
Maggie the tour guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and very detailed. She is very personable and i hope to see her again.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks for taking a moment to provide a review of our tour and guide - we really appreciate the time you took to do this. We too hope you see us and Maggie again on another visit to San Francisco!
Alcatraz & Chinatown
, Aug 2021
Alcatraz is an amazing place to visit. Chinatown history was very interesting and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. There is a lot of walking though. Comfortable shoes are a must.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
We agree that Alcatraz is pretty epic. Thank you for spending your time in San Francisco with us and hopefully next time you are in our city (or any of our cities!) you will join us again.
Lotta walking
, Aug 2021
Tour was ok. Lots of walking. 6-7 miles in total. Difficult to hear guy when walking. Would have been nice to have some kind of parking guide and return options listing.
Walking tour of San Francisco
, Aug 2021
Enjoyed learning about the history of Chinatown and North Beach. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Prison break
, Jul 2021
Maggie was a great tour guide and made our experience well worth it! I would recommend to any travelers.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Kaylee, We love your review! Thank you so much - we will of course pass your amazing comments on to Maggie!
Bad experience all around
, Jul 2021
The experience on the rock was tremendous, but getting the tickets was horrendous. We were instructed to go to a meeting place in the city, upon arrival we met up with other groups waiting for the tour guide. We waited for a hour and half and no one ever showed up, we attempted to contact the company but we're unsuccessful.People in the other groups were able to make contact with someone and we were told to go to pier 33. Upon arrival at the location we secured our tickets and we're told because we're late we would be put on standby. After waiting about 30 minutes we boarded the boat and went to alkatraz. We never received our guided tour to china town, for the amount of time wasted this was a astronamical loss rest assured we will never book with this company again.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We want to start by apologizing for the confusing information you got regarding the meeting place. Recently, there have been some changes due to Covid and our instructions were mixed between dates and distributors - a few dates with misleading instructions went out that should not have. Again, we apologize and cannot apologize enough we were part of any disturbance in your trip.
Horrible Experience
, Jul 2021
Our flight was cancelled out of Fl the night before our scheduled tour so we did not get to go. Walking Tours would Not refund any of our 693.00. Although we tried to cancel as soon as JetBlue cancelled out flights with no other flights available, it was less than 24 hrs prior to our scheduled tour. Our Girl Scout Troop had saved for years for this trip and are devastated by this HUGE loss. We are very disappointed that we could not get a retund or vouchers that we could use next summer when we plan on rescheduling this trip. We are not sure we will be able to take this tour next year because of the lack of funds. Please be aware of their unwillingness to work with anyone during the ever changing issues cause by the COVID pandemic. In our case, it was the lack of employees available to actually man the airplane. In fact, our flight was “delayed” for several hours before actually being cancelled.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hello Terri, I was really sorry to read this review. Our tours are refundable up to 24hours but within that time we do try to find a solution that works for our guests. On investigation, I see you were reimbursed with vouchers to the full value of your tour. If there is anything else we can do to assist please do contact us again.
Awesome day trip
, Jul 2021
Maggie was awesome! She came a little early and was ready to answer all of our questions. She made sure everyone was set up with the audio tour before we went on the Island. She even had a list of different places we can eat on our break between alcatraz and the China town tour. Once we met again for the second part, Maggie had great insight of the area! The history tour was great but her personal experiences made the tour so easy going and relatable. She showed us areas we would have never seen if we didn't do the second part of the tour. Overall we were so comfortable with her and had such a great time. I would wear comfortable shoes and always bring a jacket!
Do not use this tour company!!
, Jul 2021
Not fun day. Alcatraz was of course great and Chinatown was ok- but the tour itself was a joke. They made us meet across the street at 10 (when tour started)- just to waste time and tell us to walk across the street and get in line by 11 to get on boat to Alcatraz. No guide- nothing but what a regular to let to Alcatraz could have done. THEN- we were supposed to kill 5hrs til we had to be in China town at 3:45. Not one single person from the 20 person tour group showed up except me and my son. It was ridiculous timing and very disappointing. The meeting point was literally in a dark alley at an Irish pub. Uber couldn’t even find it cuz it’s not a real road. A new guide Blair did our tour. He was fine. Just odd that the main lady passed it on to him. But she made sure to tell us she accepts and lives off tips. Sad really. DO NOT DO THIS TOUR
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We apologize your experience in our care was not the standard we have set for ourselves and the standard we always try to deliver to our clients. Our Alcatraz tour has recently been redesigned to address some of your concerns. We also apologize your guide solicited a gratuity - this is not within our policy and we have addressed it with the guide. Although you didn't feel the value in our tour - and a 1-star review puts a damper on our day, we value your feedback and have taken actions to assure our clients are only getting the best of the best.

Product code: 7167P38

Compare Similar Experiences

Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour


7 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



9 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do