Recent Searches
Clear

Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour

star-4.54 Reviews
|
Sandton, South Africa
Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour

From $130.13

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Get a comprehensive tour of Soweto, including the Apartheid Museum, on this full-day excursion from Johannesburg. You'll check off all the important sights, including the Oppenheimer Tower, Vilakazi Street, the Hector Pieterson Memorial, and Nelson Mandela's house while listening to in-depth commentary. The day's final stop is the Apartheid Museum for a 2-hour tour.
  • Guide provides engaging commentary as you explore
  • Convenient hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Bottled water to keep you hydrated
  • Small group of just 15 people or fewer promises personalized attention
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
2 hour tour of the Apartheid museum
1.5 tour of the Oppenheimer tower and cultural tower
Drive through the various suburbs of Soweto
45 minute tour of the Hector Pieterson Memorial with local guide
30 minute tour of Mandela’s house
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Air Bnb's

private homes

B&B

Airports

  • O.R. Tambo International Airport, 1 Jones Rd, Kempton Park, Johannesburg, 1632, South Africa


Departure Time

9:00 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY DJM Adventures T/A South Africa Adventures
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
4 Reviews
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1 of 4 reviews
star-2
Bearable
jwspensley
, Dec 2019
Our driver was new and needed some help. We had to stop and buy water which warmed up quickly without a cooler of ice. He needed to tell us more about what we were viewing as we drove through Soweto. The restaurant he took us to in Soweto wad a local dive. We should have eaten at the apartheid museum. Finally, we had a couple from another airport which he decided to drop off first even though four of us were closer to our guest house. You get what you pay for!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi, thankyou for the feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the experience. We prefer to take people to a local Soweto restaurant run bubble the community’s instead of the commercial type of restaurant at the Apartheid museum. Party back of the township experience, sorry you didn’t enjoy it. Most travellers prefer it

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour
Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour

star-4.54

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$130.13

star-56

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.43

star-52

3 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$81.74

star-4.521

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$168.81

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$113.95

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.15

star-51

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$154.74

star-00

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.74

Explore Similar Things to Do