Recent Searches
Clear

Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Johannesburg, South Africa
Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour

From $81.75

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 to 9 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Get to know South Africa’s biggest city on a full-day tour that covers all the highlights of Johannesburg and Soweto. Take in the views from the Top of Africa, learn about the city’s history as you visit Constitutional Hill and the Apartheid Museum, then follow in the footsteps of Nelson Mandela in Soweto, with a tour of the Nelson Mandela House, Hector Pieterson Museum, and Freedom Square.
  • Comprehensive introduction to Johannesburg for first-time visitors
  • Local guide: receive recommendations on what to see and do in the city
  • Small group tour with a maximum of 15 people
  • Convenient hotel pickup and round-trip transport by air-conditioned minivan
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Lunch
Food and drinks
Drinks
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:30 AM
Hotels, Guest house, BNB and Residential
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Casual
  • A minimum of 2 adults per booking is required
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Solly
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you don't sign up for this exact tour run by Solly and his Phillipians Four company, you will be doing yourself a massive disservice." See review
  • "This is a great introductory tour to Johannesburg and Soweto." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
408 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 408 reviews
star-5
Knowledgeable and professional guide
JIHSHENG_W
, Jul 2022
The tour guide is very knowledgeable and willing to discuss conflicting opinions among historical facts.
star-5
Great tour for an overview of Johannesburg
Marion_W
, Jul 2022
Solly was a great guide who is very knowledgeable in the history and culture of his country. He taught us a lot. Solly is also a very pleasant person. All of the tour guides know him and we just proceeded immediately into the tours. A great day trip for adults and kids.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks Marion, we really appreciate your feedback. Please come again.
star-5
Day in Johannesburg
Gary_W
, Jun 2022
Apartheid museum was very in depth and good, saw much of city, learned much about history of country and new democracy
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks Gary. We really appreciate your feedback.
star-5
Fantastic tour
Pamela_M
, Jun 2022
We had a lovely day. Solly is a fantastic and very knowledgeable tour guide. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is keen to understand South African history and taste the local cuisine.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks Pamela, we really appreciate your feedback.
star-5
This is a must-do day trip when visiting Johannesburg for the first time.
Laura_J
, Jun 2022
Solly is a terrific guide, we were grateful for his knowledge and patience at explaining ZA history to us. We learned so much about Aparthied, the new Supreme Court and its impressive building, about Nelson Mandela and his family, and the influence that Gandhi had on his life. We had a delicious meal at Sakhumzi in Soweto and visited Nelson Mandela's home, as well as the sight of the June 16 massacre . It was truly a blessing to have such a knowledgeable guide share this history, as horrific as it is, of this beautiful Country in such a meaningful way. We were all greatly impacted by what we saw and learned on this day trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks Laura, we really appreciate your feedback!
star-4
Great tour if a little rushed
Janet_M
, May 2022
Clement was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about our surroundings. However we couldn’t get away from the feeling that everything was rushed. There was a lot to pack in on one day but we did feel that we were being moved on quickly and there were times that we would have liked to take photos or look at some of the stalls but couldn’t. This was In no way Clements fault but perhaps the tour needs to start earlier? A couple of the museums we should have been able to go in to were closed, I’m not sure what would have happened if they had been open and we had the opportunity to go round them. Don’t get me wrong this is an excellent tour and will give you lots of history about Joberg and Soweto but it was rushed.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks Janet,we really appreciate your feedback
star-5
Lots of sights for a short period in J-berg.
Alan_H
, May 2022
Very comprehensive tour of the city and its rich history. Tour guide was VERY knowledgeable. The only thing we would have liked was to stop at least once at locations where we could have bought souvenirs or local goodies as there were merchants we wanted to visit during our site visits. Not one stop to do so.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks Alan,we really appreciate your feedback
star-5
Highly recommend!
Nirav_P
, May 2022
The tour guide was knowledgeable and funny. Everything went as planned. Spent enough time at each attraction. Great time!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Nirav, we really appreciate your feedback. Thanks
star-3
Careful if you have time constraint’s.
clatta63
, May 2022
We never got the lunch that was mention in the details, we were late getting back to our hotel and the guide was hard to understand. Would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Chri, thank very much for your feedback. But this activities is not includes with lunch , we do take our clients to where you will have your lunch in Soweto in one of our local restaurant. Our cost is not includes with the lunch. Also this activities is full guided day tour and is not a private tour, so we need to return all our clients back to their hotel. Moreover we drop you off by your hotel 5:30pm which i believed that is not bad. Thanks
star-3
Rushed Johannesburg city tour
Christie_G
, May 2022
This tour seemed very rushed. It started at 10:00 after the last hotel pick up and was over by 1:30. Silly could not lead us so asked a friend who showed up in private small sedan to drive 4 people from place to place. Other guides at sight locations did present information about the sights. We did not stop for lunch. I felt the cost did not justify the quick pace.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Christie, hope you well? Am really sorry for what happened. My driver had rough day which i asked him not to come to the office anymore. Firstly, he used his own car not company car Secondly, he rushed you finished the tour before the time Thirdly, you didn't even have your lunch in Soweto . So we stop him not to work for our company because we give all clients our best. He is not my friend he's one of guide in the company but i really want to say we are sorry for what happened.
star-5
Good day to gain knowledge
Yusri_M
, May 2022
We were guided by the boss himself Mr. Solly who’s knowledge about the country history and places just amazing. The kids gained new knowledge about the freedom fighters and the struggle faced by the people of colored. I strongly recommend those who visiting Joburg to follow one of the tour by this folks, worth your money and time.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Yusri,we really sorry your feedback.
star-5
Knowledgeable, professional and fun!
Anna_C
, May 2022
Solly is very professional, organized and knowledgeable. He was able to answer every question and is insightful into the complex dynamics of the culture, the history of apartheid and the current state of Johannesburg and Soweto. I appreciated his willingness to discuss challenging topics at the same time he made the tour fun and engaging! The spot he picked for lunch had a great variety of traditional SA food and it was delicious. You can't go wrong choosing this tour!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Anna, we really appreciate your feedback. See you soon
star-5
Great tour experience
Helen_R
, May 2022
A perfect way to spend the day on arrival in Johannesburg. The tour showed so many aspects of this historic city and Soweto. Our driver/guide and the additional guides at various points of interest were very engaging and well informed. We experienced so much of Soweto, and I’m so glad the Apartheid Museum was open. It was a highlight of the tour. Highly recommend this tour and Solly’s company.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Helen, we really appreciate your feedback.
star-5
Very impressive tour
Irene_V
, Apr 2022
Solly is an excellent guide, very pleasent and knowledgeable. Everything we did and visited made a huge impression. The history of SA is grim. It is good to be educated and awareness created so history will never be repeated. We visited Soweto on Freedom Day, which gave the tour a special touch. I would certainly recommend booking tours with Solly.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Irene, you are star. Thanks
star-5
The guide was extremely knowledgeable
Kathleen_P
, Apr 2022
The guide was able to insert his own experiences into the historical information that he provided, which gave us a more rounded picture of the city.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Kathleen
star-5
You cannot miss this!
Barbara
, Apr 2022
This experience is truly priceless! The tour guide (unfortunately I cannot recall his name) was extremely knowledgeable. This was an 8 hour experience and anytime we were in the car he provided information regarding the part of the city we were in, history, and much more. He was also very organized. When we got to Constitutional Hill, the apartheid museum, and etc he seamlessly handled everything. I highly recommend this experience if you want to have a full understanding of the history of Jo'burg and Soweto. I 10/10 recommend this experience.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Barbara.
star-5
Great overview
LauryL_D
, Apr 2022
Great overview of Johannesburg and Soweto, as well as the past and future of South Africa. Solly was very knowledgeable and could tell us a lot about the area.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello Lauryl, we really appreciate your feedback.
star-5
The essential history of Johannesburg and Soweto
Emma_C
, Apr 2022
We had an excellent and fascinating trip around Johannesburg and Soweto. The history came alive for us and I am so glad we chose this tour. Our guide, Victor, was interesting funny, knowledgable and considerate. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks Emm we really appreciate your feedback
star-5
From the USA
Jarvis_A
, Apr 2022
Great experience. Clement the tour guide was excellent. We were able to see lots of historical places in Johannesburg and Soweto
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks Jarvis, we really appreciate your feedback. Please visit our country again.
star-5
Visiting Jozie in one day with an Amazing team
Cecilia_S
, Apr 2022
I found this city tour very interesting and complete. Clement too us the main points of Johannesburgo and explain very crucial information. He was relaxed and knowledgeable. The van was very comfortable. I would recommend this tour if it is your first time in Jozie
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks Cecilia, we really appreciate your feedback. All our workers are well trained. Please come again

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour
Soweto and Johannesburg Guided Day Tour

star-5407

8 to 9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.75

star-521

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.03

star-518

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$91.19

star-4.5202

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.26

star-513

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$106.91

star-58

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$77.59

star-57

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.18

star-52

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.04
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations