Recent Searches
Clear

Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.

|
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

As one of South Africa’s most visited museums, Robben Island tours are best booked well in advance. This half-day package includes museum admission and round-trip transfer from your Cape Town accommodation, ensuring a hassle-free trip. Learn about the island’s long history from your guide and see the cell that housed Nelson Mandela, then take time to reflect on your voyage back to the mainland.
  • Book in advance to avoid disappointment on the day
  • Round-trip transfer from your hotel ensures a hassle-free trip
  • Benefit from the historical insights of your small-group guide
  • See the cell that confined Nelson Mandela for 18 years
Saved to wishlist!
Private transportation
Air-conditioned vehicle
WiFi on board
Bottled water
Parking Fees
Fuel surcharge
Entry/Admission to Robben Island (please note: time slots are 09:am, 11:00 am, 13:00pm & 15:00 pm)
Lunch
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
Clients have to share their location and they will be picked up right at their door.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Aim Cape Tours.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets..
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets..
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets..
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets..

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
24 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews
star-1
Overpriced
Chris_H
, Aug 2022
This "tour" is a major rip-off! You can visit Robben Island for a third of the price if you do it on your own. We ended up paying an exorbitant amount for a cab ride. We were picked up at our hotel and our "tour guide" then dropped us at the ferry where we joined all the people who booked the ferry independently. Our guide left us at the ticket counter. It is a massive group tour so there is absolutely no reason to book this trip with Viator. We did enjoy our time on the island and learned a great deal, but still cannot figure out what we paid so much for. Very disappointing!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good day Dear Client It's quit confusing and disappointing at the same time Not to figure out what you paid for while you read and made booking yourself! This tour booking includes entry tickets to Robben Island museum,We pick up and drop off to your Hotel accommodation,Round trip, in a private transportation,covering a 30 kms maximum one way! When you choose to book your hotel near to the attraction we wont'be blamed because the price remain the same either your pick up location is near or far to the attraction.We provide you a personal driver,blue badge tourist guide for your convenience.During the cancellation of your tour,due to bad weather or sea conditions we strive to Refund you 100% back to your credit card no matter unseen circumstances within a process of 7 days.Just to name few.We can safely confirm that our prices are fair and much affordable to compare with the rest.We Regret that you did Not need all these Services and advise, on your next occasion, please read what you are booking for to avoid disappointment. Thank you for understanding.
star-5
Impactful
William_B
, Jun 2022
Very impactful adventure! Full of educational history! Enjoyed the prison tour lead by an actual prisoner. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Good day William The former prisoners bring the tour to live reality of former Apartheid painful experience.Learning from these ones is worthy it.We thank you for your contribution.
star-5
Perfect guide, ex...
Petros_H
, May 2022
Perfect guide, ex convict, pleasant, helpful and with humour... I am afraid I forgot his name. BUT, the whole place is not very wheelchair friendly
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Good day Dear Client. Am so glad that you met the right people upon your trip. this makes more inspiring and enjoyable .Wheel chair friendly ! an other room for improvement.Thank you for your contribution.
star-5
A short walk to freedom with family
Keneiloe_M
, Apr 2022
Hearing about the experience and life at Robben Island from someone who lived it, made it personal and brought the experience closer to home. The staff on both the buses and the boat were great. The tour guide from the hotel was superb.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Good day Dear client We are glad that you enjoyed the tour.Yes,a guided tour from former prisoners of the Island brings this experience to live reality.As we strive to improve the quality of our services, we thank you for your contribution and your keen interest of this worldly- top attraction.Please call again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Overpriced and disappointed
Chris_B
, Mar 2022
We booked and discovered that the charge was over 100% more than the advertised local price. It was advertised as half day tour (5 hours) but leaving at 11:15 and arriving back at 14:30 is not a half day! We felt ripped off. We found out more about the island's history on the boat there and back than on the actual island. Covid regulations were flaunted, on the boat was OK but it after stopping for refreshments did the masks come off in a tightly packed bus. I do not recommend this trip, book it yourself. I did write to Viator personally but have had no response.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Good Day Chris We highly value your contribution and this is what we want, to improve the quality of our services.This tour is Half day,including Pick ups and Drop offs to allow more additional timing to our travellers,for ample activities of the the day.Our prices are surely affordable to compare to other local travel agencies.Please prove it by doing more research. The covid regulations are strictly in place but some times visitors take it for granted.We hope to improve this for a better experience in the next occation.We thank you and please call again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
A good day out but expensive.
Natalie_B
, Feb 2022
We enjoyed this trip to the island and the tour was well organised and meant we didn't need to do anything. However this is an expensive way to visit the island as the tour on the island is conducted by people of the island the fee is only R550/person there the rest of the cost is on transport to the harbour and someone buying the tickets for you. If you are able to I would suggest just making the arrangements yourself.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Good day Natalie am glad that you enjoyed the Tour and that is what you wanted when you decided yourself to do the booking, however we can still confirm that this tour is among the cheapest to compare to the rest of operators and the option to choose remain in your hands.About the tickets prices please do more research and get the right figure.Like we do,Exquisite service and keeping our promises toward our Clients is our determination.Have a fantastic day further.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Fascinating insight...
David_B
, Feb 2022
Fascinating insight hearing about Apartheid in South Africa from a former inmate of Robben Island. Collected from our hotel by a knowledgeable guide who dropped us at the Robben Island museum. Would recommend to anyone visiting Cape Town.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
We thank you David for your contribution and your keen interest in learning about a journey to freedom and African renaissance. Thank you once more and call again for more discoveries.
star-5
Memorable day
Bukeka_T
, Jan 2022
Bus drive and stopping at key points and prison tour - this time around the presenters were good Very informative
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you Bukeka for your enjoyable experience with The friendly and zealous Robben Island Guides.And that's what means an enjoyable and memorable experience.We thank you and please call again.
star-5
This trip’s a real must do
Rowena_B
, Jan 2022
Both the bus tour guide, Craig and our prison guide were excellent. Full of information bringing the whole experience to life covering not just the past but modern day South Africa too. I cannot believe I have visited Cape Town a few times before and never taken this trip. It’s a real must.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you Rowena for your contribution. You are correct.Robben Island is one of the Top visitors attractions we have in South Africa.Interestingly,both the management and the whole team of guides make the tour a memorable experience for the visitors since the Island is not for the locals alone but also the UNESCO Heritage site.Thank you and please call again for more memorable experience.
star-4
Great experience
Dikeledi_L
, Dec 2021
The isolated cells where the prisoners were not allowed toilets but to releaf themselves by a bucket. It is such a bad and horrible experience. However the ocean is beautiful, I love it
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Good day Dikeledi It's indeed and absolutely shocking.Learning from Robben Island former prisoners,talking from their own experience it's the best way of walking from a painful journey which in turn resulted to a peaceful cohabitation of this beautiful rainbow nation.Thank you very much,please call again.
star-5
Overview of trip to Robben Island
Gwenyth_M
, Nov 2021
Excellent video on the boat ride. Excellent tour with a formerly-inarcerated political prisoner. Very moving. Ironically positive treatment in the curating about the guards, their families, etc. More time to.hear about and see the island's conservation would be good.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
That's correct.much to discover from Robben Island.Am glad that the trip wasn't only fun but educational as well.Please call again.
star-5
Remarkable. A must-do when visiting Cape Town
Riana_L
, Oct 2021
Tour by former political prisoner Ubaba Nthando Mbatha. Insightful and professional. An exceptional experience from the departure throughout the entire visit waz phenomena.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you very much Riana for your keen attention during this remarkable tour of Robben Island.In fact,Robben Island, as one of the Top attractions and Unesco Heritage has a lot to offer.From away back history education to a resilient and a victorious experience.Please call again for more discouvries,this beautifull land has to offer to the world .
star-4
Early history.
Elana_C
, Oct 2021
History of island before it became a prison. Was not aware of the early history. Also interesting that people are still living on island today.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Good day Elana, That's right !Am glad that you also noticed,Peuple usually mistakenly think that Robben Island is a place of Tears and sorrow rather a world historical experience, educational center and experience the African renaissance in action.We thank you for your support and hope to see you again for other discovering of many more hidden gems this beautiful land has to offer.
star-5
A beautiful day at Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point
Lerato_K
, Jan 2021
Robben Island was full and we were offered a Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point full day tour. Our tour guide was Aimable from Aim to Please tours. The experience was excellent, we had an informative and fun day with the tour guide.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
We are very grateful that you appreciate our service.This is what we are determined to offer as our contribution to the Hospitality industry in this beautiful city of rich and deep history.Once again we thank you and please call again.
star-5
Table Mountain
INA_J
, Oct 2020
We booked a half-day Robin Island tour, but they unfortunately do not operate during the week. Keboneilwe phoned me 2 days prior to the tour, and gave us about 5 other options. We chose the Table Mountain cable cart ride. He then took us to Signal Hill (awesome view). Keboneilwe is extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about Cape Town, and made this an unforgettable day. Thank you for all your kindness and patience Keboneilwe. Very much appreciated
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Good day Ina Jones, it is our pleasure to have provided a good service to you. We also appreciate it so much for your understanding about the Robben Island inconvenience. We are looking for to hosting you again. Thank you.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Excursions
Ludovic_C
, Feb 2022
Très déçu de cette excursions car on fait plus de bus que de visite réel de la prison j'aurai aimé que on nous montre la cellule où monsieur Mandela a était emprisonné
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Salut Mr Ludovic Vraiment domage que tu n"as pas eu un bon moment à Robben Island ! Peut être j'essaierai de parler à certaines autorités en place,bien sûre pour améliorer leur façon de guider sur les îles. la cellule de Mandela tout le monde veut y prendre la photo! Et le chauffeur connait,peut être avec une barrière linguistique tu n'as pas su que tu y es arrivé et sincèrement désolé,come d'habitude à la prochaine Monsieur Ludovic. Merçi.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.
Robben Island Half Day Tour with Pre-Booked Tickets.

star-424

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$96.95

star-4.511

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$106.33

star-4.591

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$184.51

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$98.53

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$113.42

star-4.522

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$153.24

star-51

8 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$218.88

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$264.03
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations